Nature Mates – Nature Club (NM-NC) was established in the year 1995, as a part of Nature Club initiative of WWF, India, WBSO. It became a registered NGO in the year 2006. Since its inception, NM-NC is focused in the conservation aspect of wildlife in and around Kolkata.

As regular visitors to the wilderness areas around the city and other part of our Country, members of NM-NC keep an account of the flora and fauna of these for the creation of a dynamic data bank of Kolkata’s biodiversity along with the other part of West Bengal and also North-East region. Rescuing wildlife in distress in different areas of the city and handing them over to the Forest Authority for proper rehabilitation is another regular activity of NM-NC. NM-NC has also conducted many awareness campaigns against illegal wildlife trade and has helped the Forest Department with information on wildlife trade. This has resulted in seizures of tiger nails, river terrapins, and plenty of scheduled birds like the Shikra etc. We do promote Bio-diversity gardening as a conservation measure. We use butterflies as the keyspecies for such gardening. The idea is to involve common people into serious conservation initiative.

I am text block. Click edit button to change this text. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

Governing Body Members

Shakti Ranjan Banerjee

Shakti Ranjan Banerjee

Devsena Roychaudhury

JRB Alfred

J.R.B Alfred


Souryadeep Mukherjee


Arjan Basu Roy


Uttam Mahatha

Ariji Chatterjee

Arijit Chattopadhyay
Asst. Secretary


Vijay Barve

Advisory Board Members

Aritra Kshettry

Wildlife Research

Jhimli Bhattacharyya


Prosenjit Dawn

Wildlife Research

Bikramaditya Guha Roy

PR Manager

Judhajit Dasgupta

Scientific Communication

Prosenjit Shome

Legal Matters

Bulganin Mitra

Wildlife Research

Lipika Ray

Administrative Guidance

Rishin Basu Roy

Wildlife Research

Diya Banerjee

Project Co-ordinator CSR

Pinaki Ranjan Chakraborty

Wildlife Research

Silanjan Bhattacharyya

Ecology & Evolution

Life Members

Bikramaditya Guha Roy

Lee McGeorge Durrell

Yagnesh Chawda

Debleena Roychaudhury

Radhika Goyal

I.P. Tantia

Sanchita Dey

J.R.B Alfred

Sayantan Chatterjee

General Members

Anwesha Saha

Amanul Rahaman

Arundhati Banerjee

Joyeeta Mukherjee

Shubhobroto Ghosh

Subhrangshu Basu

Amit Kumar Bose

Archan Paul

Danish Sualeh

Pabitra Denre

Soma Dutta

Sumanta Pramanick

Animesh Manna

Arkajyoti Shome

Deepak Agarwal

Prosenjit Dawn

Soumyadeep Guha

Supriya Sarkar

Tamaghna Sengupta

Anirban Choudhury

Arpita Dutta

Indranil Samajpati

Ritu Chatterjee

Souparno Roy